Click to Home

Go To Search
Tag Enforcement & Management Program (CTEAM)
The Coffeyville Police Department has initiated a new enforcement
program directed at motor vehicles that belong to residents of
Montgomery County but are registered in another county or state.
The Coffeyville Tag Enforcement And Management (CTEAM) Program will focus on enforcing compliance with the Kansas motor vehicle registration laws K.S.A. 8-129.

Enforcement of these laws recover tax and registration fees for the State, Montgomery County and the City of Coffeyville that are currently not being collected from residents of Montgomery County who choose to register their
vehicle(s) in another Kansas county or another state. All vehicles owned by residents of Coffeyville must be registered and tagged in Montgomery County, with the following exceptions:
1)Full-time active Military and;
2) undergraduate students attending a college in Montgomery County.
New residents to Coffeyville have ninety (90) days to transfer their vehicle registration to Montgomery County. Ownership of property in another Kansas County or State does not constitute an exception to these laws.

8-129
Chapter 8.--AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES
Article 1.--GENERAL PROVISIONS
8-129. Application for registration; mailing fee; certificate of title. (a) Applications for the registration of a vehicle required to be registered shall be made by the owner, by mail, on-line, electronically or otherwise, in the office of the county treasurer of:
(1) The county in which such owner resides; or
(2) the county in which the owner has a bona fide place of business, if such vehicle is garaged in such county for a period exceeding 90 days. Such place of business shall not be an office or facility established or maintained solely for the purpose of obtaining registration.

8-149
Chapter 8.--AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES
Article 1.--GENERAL PROVISIONS
8-149. Violation of act; penalty. It shall be unlawful and constitute a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not exceeding $2,500, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than six months, or both such fine and imprisonment, for any person to violate any of the provisions of K.S.A. 8-126 et seq. and amendments thereto, unless a different penalty is by this act otherwise prescribed.
History: L. 1929, ch. 81, § 27; L. 1990, ch. 34, § 3; July 1.