Kansas Details & Statistics

Kansas became the 34th state in the Union on January 29, 1861. Topeka is the state capital. The state legislature convenes each January for approximately 90 days. There are 40 state senators and 125 state legislators. Kansas has 105 counties and 625 incorporated cities. The state population as of 2018 was 2,912,000. Commerce and industry in Kansas is varied, but is dominated by the aircraft industry and agriculture-related enterprises along with education.

State Symbols

Bird - Western Meadowlark, adopted in 1937
Tree - cottonwood, adopted in 1937
Flower - native sunflower, adopted in 1903
Song - Home on the Range, adopted in 1947
Animal - American bison or buffalo, adopted in 1955
Reptile - ornate box turtle, adopted in 1986
Insect - honeybee, adopted in 1976*
Amphibian - Barred Tiger Salamander
Nickname - Sunflower State (official); Wheat State and Jayhawker State (unofficial)

*A local student, Jeff Woods, was instrumental in getting the honey bee named as the state insect. Jeff attended Edgewood Elementary School and worked on this as a class project. The honey bee was chosen for being a social, hard working and
productive and economically valuable insect.

Highest point in Kansas - Mount Sunflower in western Kansas - 4,039 feet
Lowest point in Kansas - Verdigris River near Coffeyville - 680 feet
Geographic Size of Kansas - 82,282 square miles - ranked 15th in geographic size

State of Kansas website